OMBUDSMAN SERVICE FOR CONSUMER DISPUTES RELATING TO THE LEGAL PROFESSION

THE OMBUDSMAN SERVICE

The ombudsman is Isabel Goris. She has been a lawyer at the Antwerp bar since 1991.

How does the ombudsman service work?

A lawyer or client submits a complaint to the ombudsman service free of charge. The ombudsman receives all complaints and checks whether they are complete and well-founded. The complaint is then forwarded to a local ombudsman for handling.

Each bar has a list of at least three local ombudsmen. They all have the necessary experience and knowledge, and are all qualified mediators. This guarantees a humane and correct approach to the complaint.

The ombudsman chooses the local ombudsman from the list of the bar where the lawyer concerned is registered. If the client does not accept that choice, the ombudsman designates a person from the list of another judicial district. In this way, the ombudsman guarantees the local ombudsman’s independence and impartiality.

The local ombudsman investigates the complaint and searches for possible solutions. To this end, he can interview both the lawyer and the client, either separately or together. The local ombudsman proposes a solution and makes recommendations. The lawyer and client may follow this solution and recommendations, but are not obliged to do so. They can also make their own proposals.

First search for a lower-level solution

The ombudsman is at the top of the pyramid of what is known as extrajudicial dispute resolution (i.e. not before a court) between lawyers and clients.

At the lowest level, a law firm can also establish a comparable service. If a lawyer or law firm provides such a service, you must first try to resolve your problem through this service. Even if there is no formal service, the lawyer and client must always first try to discuss and solve their problems. You may approach the ombudsman only if this route provides no solution.

According to the law

The law stipulates that consumer disputes must firstly be resolved out of court. It permits a certain sector or professional group to create their own body for this purpose. For Flemish lawyers, this is the Ombudsman Service for Consumer Disputes relating to the Legal Profession (OCA). The ombudsman service is authorised to intervene in all disputes between Flemish lawyers and their clients. It takes the Belgian Judicial Code, the Belgian Economic Law Code and ethical rules into consideration in this regard.

FINANCING

The Ombudsman Service for Consumer Disputes relating to the Legal Profession (OCA) has its own budget that is adequate for the performance of its duties. This budget is allocated by the Flemish Bar Council, the statutory professional organisation of the Flemish legal profession.

The ombudsman decides independently how the budget is to be used, based on the OCA’s needs and workload.

The board of the Bar Council of the local bars decide for themselves on any remuneration of local ombudsmen. That remuneration may not be based on the outcome of the extrajudicial dispute resolution.

Contact us

If you have a general question about the ombudsman service, please use the form below. If you wish to submit a complaint, please use the  application form.

SERVICE DE MEDIATION POUR LES LITIGES DE CONSOMMATION DES AVOCATS

LE SERVICE DE MEDIATION

Isabel Goris est l’ombudsman. Elle est avocate au barreau d’Antwerpen depuis 1991.

Comment fonctionne le service de médiation ?

Un avocat ou un client introduit gratuitement une plainte auprès du service de médiation. L’ombudsman reçoit toutes les plaintes et vérifie si celles-ci sont complètes et fondées. Il transmet ensuite la plainte à l’ombudsman local qui la traitera.

Chaque barreau a une liste d’au moins 3 ombudsmans locaux. Ils ont tous l’expérience et les connaissances nécessaires, et sont tous médiateurs agréés. Ils garantissent ainsi une approche humaine et correcte de la plainte.

L’ombudsman choisit l’ombudsman local parmi la liste du barreau où l’avocat en question est inscrit. Si le client n’est pas d’accord avec ce choix, l’ombudsman désigne une personne parmi la liste d’un autre arrondissement. Le service de médiation garantit ainsi l’indépendance et l’impartialité de l’ombudsman local.

L’ombudsman local examine la plainte et cherche d’éventuelles solutions. Il peut pour cela interroger l’avocat et le client (séparément ou ensemble). L’ombudsman local propose une solution et fait des recommandations. L’avocat et le client peuvent suivre cette solution et ces recommandations, mais il n’y sont pas tenus. Ils peuvent aussi faire eux-mêmes des propositions.

D’abord chercher une solution à un niveau moins élevé

Le service de médiation se trouve au sommet de la pyramide de ce qui est appelé le règlement extrajudiciaire de litiges (pas devant le tribunal) entre avocats et clients.

Au plus bas niveau, le cabinet d’avocats peut aussi lui-même créer un service similaire. Si un avocat ou un cabinet d’avocats dispose d’un tel service, vous devez d’abord passer par celui-ci pour tenter de résoudre vos problèmes. Même si un tel service n’existe pas, l’avocat et le client doivent toujours commencer par essayer de discuter de leurs problèmes et de les résoudre eux-mêmes. Si cette méthode n’apporte pas de solution, vous pouvez alors faire appel au service de médiation.

Selon la loi

La loi impose que les litiges de consommation soient prioritairement résolus en dehors du tribunal. Elle autorise un certain secteur ou groupe professionnel à créer sa propre instance qui prend ces litiges en charge. Pour les avocats flamands, il s’agit de l’Ombudsdienst Consumentengeschillen Advocatuur (OCA). Le service de médiation est compétent pour intervenir dans tous les litiges entre les avocats flamands et leurs clients. Il tient alors compte du Code judiciaire, du Code de Droit Economique et des règles déontologiques.

FINANCEMENT

Le Service de Médiation des litiges de consommation des avocats (OCA) dispose d’un budget propre qui est suffisant pour accomplir ses tâches. Ce budget a été accordé par l’Ordre des barreaux flamands, l’organisation professionnelle légale des avocats flamands.

L’ombudsman décide de manière indépendante de la manière dont ce budget est utilisé, en fonction des besoins et de la charge de travail de l’OCA.

Les conseils de l’Ordre des barreaux locaux décident eux-mêmes de l’éventuelle indemnité des ombudsmans locaux. Cette indemnité ne peut pas dépendre de l’issue du règlement extrajudiciaire de litiges.

Contactez-nous

Si vous avez des questions générales relatives au service de médiation, posez-les par le biais du formulaire ci-dessous.
Pour l’introduction d’une plainte, utilisez le  formulaire de demande.